Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Dr.Bass vs. Avatar in terms of sound?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Yossarian, Jul 12, 2005.

1. Yossarian

Yossarian

Jun 24, 2004
    Virginia
    So there's a lot of Dr. Bass vs. Avatar talk on here, but it seems like everybody sticks to the weight, covering, and price issues. I'm definitely leaning towards Dr. Bass based on all that, but I'm wondering what the difference in sound or tone is.

I'm looking to play punk, most of the time with a pick, hoping for something kind of round (does that work for sound?) and punchy, but that'll still make your gut rumble. I'm thinking a 212 and a 210, which works for either brand, so which do you guys think would fit my preferences better?

Oh yeah, and www.drbasscabs.com is finally revamped and has pictures and such. Not that I've been checking regularly for 6 months or anything...

2. flexo

flexo

May 3, 2005
    Perth, Australia
    I'd like to know this too. I'm in Oz and Dr Bass ships internationally so this might be a good way to get a cheap cab for me.

What are the differences between the two? The dr bass cabs don't mention what brand of speaker they use either, are they comparable to the eminences used in avatars?

3. illidian

illidian

Jul 2, 2004
    I'll try to help you two out.