Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

dress code & rests: novice questions

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by contrabajisimo, Nov 16, 2004.

1. contrabajisimo

contrabajisimo

Feb 9, 2004
    Chicago
    Hey guys, I'm sure for a lot of you this is common sense and something you perhaps don't even question, but... I have a first symphony orchestra gig next week and have two questions:

1. what is the appropriate dress code (we suppose to wear black & white), are there places that rent suits as I don't have any?

2. I noticed something about myself is that during long rests (for bass section) I don't know how to behave. How do you guys handle the long rests besides counting the measures?

I apologise if these questions are offensive to the old-timers in classical music, but I'm just starting out, so help me out.

2. olivier

olivier

Dec 17, 1999
    Paris, France
    1. Buy yourself a good black suit not flashy, just plain standard suit. And a white shirt. You add a tie and you're ready for job interviews, husher jobs at the music hall, concerts, auditions, weddings, etc... every musician needs a black suit.

2. Just behave. Don't pick your nose, etc... Counting the bars could be useful, and sometimes mandatory. In any case, stay deeply concentrated on the music, do not distract the audience while your bandmates are playing.

This thread has the potential to crop some funny stories... :D

3. contrabajisimo

contrabajisimo

Feb 9, 2004
    Chicago
    haha.. pick my nose... no.. I don't know, I just found myself either deeply being responsive to the music physically (like a jazz gig) or just staring at the charts, but then I kind of felt a little self-concious, but I guess that's just inexperience screaming.

What tie is a standard tie? Is it a black "butterfly" type? How is it called?

4. olivier

olivier

Dec 17, 1999
    Paris, France