Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Driving a power amp ??

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ElephantTalk, Mar 14, 2006.

1. ElephantTalk

ElephantTalk

Jan 20, 2005
    Indy
    I'm in the market for a power amp. Stereo perhaps.
    I've never used one before. In reading about them I've seen some verbage that confuses me.

'Both channels driven...'

Assuming that I would run the power amp in bridged mode.

Does this mean that I need to "Y" the output off of my pre-amp (one into each side of the power amp) in order to effectively drive the power-amp?

or

Do I just run the single output from the pre into one side of the power?

Thanks.

2. Rumzini

Rumzini

Feb 14, 2004
    Jackson, MI
    When using my QSC power amp....

It has seperate inputs for both channels. So I can run two seperat pres into it.

Or

Jut one pre into channel one input...then flip a couple of switches for the amp to run in parallel input mode and I can now run both channels independently from one another...say to power two cabs.

OR

I can run one pre into it in bridged mode, (after flicking same switches),...plug into the channel one input of the power amp and control the volume/gain with the channel one gain knob.

I'm sure other amps vary as to how they operate, (switches and such).

3. lug

lug

Feb 11, 2005
    League City, Tx
    My Mackie can also switch to mono mode that allows one input to be routed to both sidess.

4. Passinwind

Passinwind I Know Nothing Supporting Member

You're talking about the standard rating method. It's relevant to quote power with both channels driven because the per-channel number would often look bigger if you only drive one.

What you need to do to run in bridged mode varies somewhat from modle to model. What specific amp are you asking about?

5. 4runner

4runner WARNING!"WALL OF DOOM" does "exceed" 140 decibels!

Feb 11, 2006