Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Drop D players.... GET TOGETHER!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by PollyBass, May 8, 2002.

1. PollyBass

PollyBass ******

Jun 25, 2001
    Shreveport, LA
    Hi all. wondering about the people that use this tunning. the tunning my bass has been in for most of its career. What are some advatages of the tunning? what don't you like about it? Ive noticed that almost all bass instruction books or things never make room for it. guess it's taboo in that sorta thing. no big deal to transcribe it to D though, for some parts. anyone ever see any instrucion(books, that sorta thing.) for Drop D tunning? i never did when i started playing. So. D players GIVE IT UP!

2. lo-end

lo-end

Jun 15, 2001
    PA
    I dont really ever use drop D tuning, but its cool when youre playing a song in the key of D. It feels good to go down to that low note

3. Brendan

Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    D is for sissys.

I use GCGC and ADGCF (I know it's got D in it...but It's technically Open A)

4. actually, open A would mean that when you play all the open strings, you'd get an A major chord. something like, say, A E A Db A. usually used with guitars for slide playing. just FYI.

5. CaracasBass

CaracasBass

Jun 16, 2001
    Madrid, Spain
    Eat my shorts!!!!!!!!!

I´ve been playing droped D (actually Db) for 5 years and it rocks..... I can´t live without it.

..by the way..... 5´ers are for pussycats.....

:eek: :D :D :p

6. GCGC?????????????? May I ask why??? Just curiosity, I'm not flaming you...:D

7. CaracasBass

CaracasBass

Jun 16, 2001
    Madrid, Spain
    I can help you with that......... no charge, gratis,

bueno, bonito, y barato...... :D

8. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

Get an extended range bass and there is no need for drop tuning.;)