Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

DR's nickel vs SS

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by RicPlaya, Jan 26, 2006.

1. RicPlaya

RicPlaya

Apr 22, 2003
    Whitmoretucky MI
    I have used DR LR SS for years. But now that I am playing in a different band that's into Motown morso than hard rock i maybe want to tone down my strings a bit. I like the tone of LR's but the tension and zingyness is getting old. I was thinking of going back to HB's to get a little more loser string and maybe nickels to have less of a crispy tone. I have never tried nickel strings before. How do they compare?

2. I've tried Hi-Beams, just tried SS Lo-Riders, and went back to Sunbeams...the tone I get out of the Sunbeams sounds so much better to my ears than both of their SS strings..

The Lo-Riders I tried had less musical highs than the Sunbeams on my Rickenbacker..
    ...the Lo-Riders just had a toneless "clack" in the highs when pushed that reminded me of Fieldy's tone ....adding more mids did compensate a little, but I never got full mids out of them, or the high-end harmonics that the Sunbeams had in spades...I think it all had to do with the nickel content of the string....I'm sure they'd sound better on a bass that isn't as hi-fi...

3. RicPlaya

RicPlaya

Apr 22, 2003
    Whitmoretucky MI
    Ever try HB or LR in nickel?

4. pickles

pickles Supporting Member

Mar 23, 2000
    Ventura, CA
    Nickel high beams are called sunbeams. I've got a set on the way ... I'm a longtime high beam user but I've been digging a nickel tone lately so I'm going to see how they work.

Nickel lo riders are real nice if you like a stiffer string.

5. RicPlaya

RicPlaya

Apr 22, 2003
    Whitmoretucky MI
    Gottcha!

I want a string my playable..I don't the tension of LR's but I think a more flaxable string would be more playable.

Also I want a darker tone.

6. pickles

Mar 23, 2000