1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Drum Notation for Digital Recording

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Mikhail, Apr 24, 2018.

1. Mikhail

Mikhail

Jul 18, 2006
    I’m relatively new to transcribing and am having a bit of trouble notating drum fills. I’ve been using Easy Beat, MuseScore, and Amazing Slow Downer to learn songs for quite a while; they’re great for learning written or recorded parts. When transcribing drum patterns & fills I have a hard time getting them to sound right, let alone natural. Any suggestions for books or study guides for notating fills, etc. to help me learn the subtleties? Thanks

2. When you say “transcribing,” do you mean listening to a recording and writing out the part accurately?

Are you trying to notate the drum part note for note?

Are you writing the drum part so a drummer can play it?

3. Mikhail

Mikhail

Jul 18, 2006
    Listening to a part & writing it out accurately. The ability to write it down note for note is like getting a 100 on a test, which is... perfect, but I’m programming practice tracks and just need to see how fills are notated, with subtle 16 & 32 note hits & rests. Straight beats aren’t an issue, but any interesting fills require more rhythmic knowledge than I have. Thanks.

4. silky smoove

silky smoove Supporting Member

May 19, 2004
    Seattle, WA