1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Drum plugin to like get sounds like this?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Kwesi, Sep 23, 2010.

1. To say I'm pretty new to computer music would be an understatement but I used my birthday money and work earnings to dive in head first. I got Ableton Live and a handful of pretty nice VSTs. I'm waiting on my controller to come in so I can really get down to it but I'm figuring out how to work around things for now. I'm interested in all kinds of music but for now I'd like to make some groovy electronic based songs (think Daft Punk, Chromeo, Sam Sparro, etc) but I can't seem to find some solid drums for the genre. I know they're out there I just don't know where to look. I basically want something that has a kit or could synthesize drums that sound like the ones in this video:

http://morebirthdays.com/gallery/music#/artist/mysto-pizzi-ft-wynter-gordon

2. I create loops using Fruity Loops then cut and past to build up songs. The filter effects work pretty well and are easy to work with.

3. Thanks for the comment but I'm looking for a plugin. I've already got a DAW... actually two, lol.

4. pnut166

pnut166

Jun 5, 2008
    alabama
    You could try Kore Player

5. pfschim

pfschim Just a Skeleton with a Jazz bass

Apr 26, 2006
    SF Bay Area
    I use iDrum from iZotope as a drum machine plug in for Ableton. It is pretty useful, easy to set-up tracks, not very expensive ($50 range) and has a lot of built in tracks/sounds and a large available library of add-on sets and tracks. The tracks and sets are very easily edited. It will also work as a standalone drum machine app, which is handy.

I'm sure there are many others, but iDrum works great for me in Ableton.