Drummer looking to start bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Kim, Aug 18, 2005.

1. Kim

Aug 18, 2005
    Chicago Suburbs
    I have been playing drums off and on for about 10 years and I have always wanted to learn bass guitar. I am looking for a bass that is versatile enough to play almost all kinds of music. In my current band we play mostly classic rock covers but we also dab into country and pop music. I have checked out the Spector brand at the local GC and I liked how it felt in my hands. I am looking for something with a slim neck as well, since my hands are not that big. Any thoughts on which make and model I should check out? Looking to spend up to $1000.

I have a friend that is selling a Yorkville XS400H head for a good price. I plan on getting a Schroeder Mini 12x or 1210 cabinet. I read good things about these items in the amp section.
  2. Philbiker

Philbiker Pat's the best!

Dec 28, 2000
    Northern Virginia, USA
    USA Fender Precision Bass Standard.

It can handle every style and never looks or sounds out of place. If you're only going to have one bass, that's the one to have.

Not a slim neck, but then again Spector 4 strings aren't exactly known for a slim neck either.

IMO of course.
  3. Kim

Aug 18, 2005
    Chicago Suburbs
    Is Fender my only choice when it comes to precision basses?
  4. Bo_H

Jul 2, 2004
    No. The Fender P-bass is just one style among many that has been copied. Jazz bass copies abound as well. If money is an issue, then consider a Mexican made P-bass (Standard Precision) or even a Squier P. I have heard mixed reactions over them, but most people I have spoken to like the lower range models. You may be giving up some quality control, but keep your eye open and play lots of basses and you will find one you like. Good luck!
  5. Kim

Aug 18, 2005
    Chicago Suburbs