Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Drummer: "My bass player is driving me nuts".

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Oxford, Jun 15, 2005.

1. Hi folks

I am a drummer in classic rock band, and my bass player is making me crazy.

What he does is play ahead of the beat and plays way too many notes. I mean, like in "You Really Got Me" it's a simple base riff - right? Our old bass player (had to leave-got job out of state :crying: ) would play that simple, minimal riff right on TOP of my bass drum pattern. We sounded very tight and the lead guitar had a nice foundation to do his thing. Made my job so easy. We hooked up and took off.

This new guy is very experienced (he claims) , has expensive equipment and claims to have played in many bands and recorded in LA. So is this style some hot new trend or something?

I've asked him to cut that crap out and help me get a groove going but pretty soon he's ahead of the beat and doing his "bum-bitty-bum-bum-bum-bitty-bitty-bum happy-fingers stuff" :rollno: This is not some freaking jazz fusion band, dude. Make it simple!! Sounds like he is rushing the song all the time.

Am I missing something? I cannot seem to get a pocket going with that kind of playing. Is it me? And is this an acceptable style for classic rock music and I am just not getting it?

Thanks for your thoughts!:help:

thanks
    OX

2. cheezewiz

cheezewiz

Mar 27, 2002
    Ohio
    I feel your pain bro. We've been complaining about drummers who play like you bass player for YEARS.

3. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA
    No matter what instrument, you're going to end up with some no talent wankers who can't groove. I'd say ditch him.

4. Ya wanna move to Texas and play with me?? ;) Or at least teach my drummer how to quit trying to do 50,000 drum solos?? :spit: