Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Drummer Problem

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by BassDodger, Jul 17, 2002.

1. BassDodger

BassDodger Guest

Jul 14, 2002
    I play in 2 bands- one is an original act, the other does almost strictly covers. Now, I have been playing Bass for 20 years (I'm 33) and I am having a real problrm with the drummer of the Cover band- the kinda problem that I just can't put my finger on (no pun intended)...

He's a really great drummer. He plays like he's been doing it at least as long as I have. He even has some "showmanship" to his act. This is a rock cover band. The other players are older- this is cool because while growing up, I kinda looked up to these guys- but now onto the drummer problem....and I play Bass for them. He wants to impress as much as I...Here's the problem.

At the end of a song, if we go into a "fanfare" ending, I cannot, FOR THE LIFE OF ME, hit the last note with him: he either hits it too early or late- which as you know, is Not A Good Thing. It's kinda the same way in the song itself- I have to struggle to get into time with him. Now I have played with alot of drummers in my career. There is only one other that I can think of that shared this same "problem". All other drummers seem to have always laid a groove with me. But this guy is so different. You have to work twice as hard within IN song- the Fanfare-thing- I more LOST that I can remember that I ever had been.

I have been thinking on this for a few minths...I was just curious as to what ya'll would say about it....

2. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    Sounds like your rhythym section ain't tight. And as you know ...

3. boomerang

boomerang Guest

Dec 9, 2001
    Canada