Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Drummers Who Always Use The Same Drum Beat

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by groove9028, Oct 13, 2004.

1. groove9028

groove9028

May 25, 2004
    i've been playing with my drummer for almost 2 years and whatever he did, always had that gosh darn ride cymbal playing in the background. every song he played had the same groove to it. and sometimes he'd never get the time signature so i'd have to turn up my bass and tap on the strings on the 2 and 4 of the beat. and get this, he has an electic kit too..what a guy.. <sigh> :rollno: ANY STORIES?!!

jay

2. Folmeister

Folmeister Knowledge is Good - Emile Faber Supporting Member

May 7, 2003
    Tomball, Texas
    I was auditioning drummers for my now-defunct country project and got a contact off of CL. This guy laid it on thick when we communicated. When he came to the audition, it was a real hoot.

He arrived with one of those Ringo-ish Ludwig drum sets. You know, the sparkly ones? Most of the hardware was duct tape. It looked like a toy. We started to noodle around before plunging into the agreed-upon audition songs. He had one of those spastic, frantic styles that depended upon lots of ride cymbal. I had a very, very queasy moment. I knew the audition was over before it started.

Let me summarize the rest of the story:

1. He learned none of the tunes we asked him to learn

2. He used the same beat on every song he said he "knew"

3. The epistemological/metaphysical certitude of his actually "knowing" any songs was in dire jeopardy

4. When we asked him to count us in, he had no idea what that meant

5. He was a nice guy

6. We said "thank you" and helped him load up his stuff

3. Josh Ryan

Josh Ryan - that dog won't hunt, Monsignor. Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 24, 2001