Dude, how high is your DB?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by chrismmc, Oct 6, 2004.

1. How high should I have my bass?Is there a rule of thumb?I did have it set pretty high,then I lowered it-so the nut is about the same level as my eye,this seemed to reduce fatigue in my hand,but it makes for a longer reach when playing arco.Is it just a comfort thing?

Here is another one...I am studying the Simandl technique,and in reference to "the claw",should I be trying to force my ring finger to stay in contact with my pinky?I have a wrist problem from when I was a kid...not what you think...
    and find certain positions painful.I try to keep the two of them together,or at least as close as I can,but they naturally separate-maby from years of playing electric bass-is this a concern,or will it happen naturally,or should it happen at all?
  2. I'll answer the bass height question, there is no fixed rule on this (unless you study Streicher). I'd say go with what's best on your left hand. The reach for arco will work itself out, just experiment until you find a nice height.
    I would also say get a teacher, they can help with these issues better than people sitting a PC and not able to see how your hands work. A good teacher will help you come to a place where the bass is comfortable, plus the risk of injury is too great to just see what happens. If you're dealing with an old wrist injury get a teacher.
    I'm rambling, it's been a long day but I think my point is clear.
  3. Chris, check the Newbie links and the search function.
    There's SO much info in there that it's redundant for us to just repeat it all......Good luck and as we say, welcome to the Darkside!
  4. hdiddy

hdiddy Official Forum Flunkee Supporting Member

Mar 16, 2004
    San Francisco, CA