Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Dumb Battery Question

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by lowphatbass, Oct 13, 2005.

1. lowphatbass

lowphatbass ****

Feb 25, 2005
    west coast
    Search-mongers feel free to crush me now...

I have been playing active basses for almost 20 years now and I have a stupid question that is bothering me as of late:

....How much, if any does the output signal and/or frequency boost decrease as battery power decreases? If it is a matter of simple voltage does it either work or not work?
    ...I imagine the type of electronics have something to do with this answer. The only bass I have EVER had absolute battery failure with was equiped with a strait set of active EMG's @18V, other than that I have always just replaced batteries every six months or so and have not really noticed any changes in output. I was also given a pair of battery "jumpers" from my tech, it's a 9Volt battery plug with the + & - wires soldered together so I can run with one or no batteries if need be without breaking output chain as my pups will run in passive mode if needed or desired.
    .....any educated thoughts on this?

2. hmmmm...good question...how does one accurately quantify this without setting up a tone generator feeding a preamp 24/7 until it dies and doing several tests at different levels...

my guess is you can't...

but with that said...we know that having your preamp on all the time (cable plugged in to activate the jack switch on most setups) will definitely kill your battery(s).

It DOES stand to reason that more output will use more batteries, but remember battery usage is about current draw and the current difference is minimal, it is more about signal (voltage) level. So I'd guess the most power used in a battery is from powering the circuit in the first place.