Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Dumb Questions From A Newbie!

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by tplyons, Nov 13, 2003.

1. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    Can't find answers in the search, maybe I'm phrasing wrong...but here goes?

How often do you need rosin? I just started playing bass with the school orchestra three weeks ago, twice a week and haven't applied rosin to my bow since joining. Noone else uses my bow or bass, so I know noone else is doing it, but it still sounds pretty good. Do I need to soon?

How do you apply rosin :p

And I'm looking at getting a bass for Christmas, an Englehardt EM-1, and will most likely order the bow from Bob Gollihur as well. I play with a French bow at school, so I figure it's best not to play something different at home since I'm still a beginner. How are Bob's Brazilwood Bass Bows?

2. how often to rosin depends on what kind of rosin you use, how often you play, and like that. I use carlson, and I play every day. I like to apply a little bit fairly frequently, rather than a whole bunch less often. I'll usually warm up a little bit and then give it a few swipes, and then maybe a couple more swipes after an hour of playing or so. I think it's important to play a little bit before rosining; maybe it softens up the rosin that's on there so it will mix with the new stuff, or maybe it's just in my head but it seems to work better.

3. I believe it warms up the bow hairs so the rosin comes on a little easier.
    Pile-ons: Draw the bow across the rosin in one direction only - from frog to tip. How often and how much you need varies, and only you can know. I use only as much as is needed to get the string moving immediately. Your technique will help determine that. Too much rosin is often a crutch for weak technique. I find less rosin means warmer sound.