1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Dumb things you've done to equipment

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by MiniMoose234, Apr 27, 2010.

1. Ok, this is a thread to inform the world about silly careless mistakes we've all made, hopefully informing others :p

I just got the pickup and bridge cover for my highway 1 p bass, as well as a tort guard.. And the holes didnt allign..and i drilled them wrong.. and when i realized this i completely flipped :crying:
    I also got a wiring kit to get the standard wiring, and with my very basic knowledge of soldering...completely messed it up. somehow the tone knob doesnt work, and the volumes in reverse :meh: Still not sure what i did wrong...

For the time being, its a very gorgeous P bass, and plays great...just no amplified sound :bassist: hahaha

So what are all your stories?

2. I've got one. I'm new to playing an active bass so I assumed that you had to take the strings off to change the battery. Well in my stupidity i cut the curled tips off the strings to get them off easier and now they don't fit. On top off it all, I really don't have the cash to buy new strings. But I bet my bass is gonna sound great now that I've replaced the battery. All I need now is a set of strings :bassist::ninja:

3. cap'n crunk

cap'n crunk

Apr 6, 2010
    California
    Hmmm ... dumb things I've done to equipment ... let's see ...

Oh, I know. Continued to buy it when the stuff I have is perfectly serviceable. GAS is a hell of a drug.

4. David1234

David1234

Jun 1, 2004
    Sydney, Australia
    Endorsing Artist: SWR Amplifiers
    Defretting an SX PJ impatiently. Now's it's junk! Might buy me a squier now.

5. Sundown1206

Sundown1206

Jan 26, 2010
    Chicago