Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Durability of natural wood bass bodies.

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Rockin John, May 8, 2001.

1. Warwick5S's recent thread about cleaning the grime from natural wood bodies inspired me to ask about the durability of natural wood.

I might just be able to afford a Yamaha BB4NIII. The natural Alder body looks great (IMHO) when new. But what about after it's ben worn and played a good while: does the wood bruise easily, scratch easily, etc? I've seen one such bass in a store with quite nasty scratches under the strings and it rather put me off natural wood bodies.

And can anything be done to put right scratches, etc, when it does happen?

Thanks.

Rockin John

2. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    I am far from an expert on finishes, but I can share my personal experience.

I own a natural bubinga Warwick, and although it has a few nicks, it looks newer and in better shape than my other basses. Finished basses protect the wood, but the finish seems more delicate than the wood itself. My MM has lots of scratches in it that go through to the wood, my Fender has all these swirls that seemed to have developed on their own. The only way I know of to fix any of this stuff is to have the whole bass refinished. From my understanding, with a natural finish any minor nicks and scrapes could be easily sanded out.

3. Suburban

Suburban

Jan 15, 2001
    lower mid Sweden
    As alder is a soft wood, you'd expect some dents and scratches - whether natural or painted or whatever! These would normally occur on the edges of the body, and some on the rear. Abnormal events, like a fall or some idiot throwing a pint at you (don't do that kind of gigs:() will cause dents on the front.

However, this will occur regardless of treatment!