1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

DYFS --- Need some input

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by TheVoiceless, May 16, 2011.

1. TheVoiceless

TheVoiceless

Jun 11, 2008
    New Jersey
    Ok OT TB,

I wanted to see what people knew about DYFS. I have a friend who's girlfriend had DYFS called on her. She claims they came in the middle of the night and said that she was being accused of putting cigarette burns on her daughter and was not feeding her 3 children. She said they took her sleeping daughter out of her bed and lifted her clothes up to inspect for cigarette burns.

I have no experience with how DYFS works. But I did read this,

State of New Jersey | Department of Children and Families | How and When to Report Child Abuse/Neglect

She is claiming it came from an anonymous call.

I would think that it would take more then an anonymous call with outrageous claims to deserve this type of investigation?

What I want to know is, is this standard practice by DYFS? To just rush in with the police in the middle night? Or don't they have to do any research first? Like talk to a teacher, or a doctor? Or at least calmly contact the mother and do a soft investigation first?

To me it would have to come from a reliable source, or at least get the callers name and info in the case they are wrong? I understand the urgency in the case its true, but again, shouldn't it take more then an anonymous call?

Have you ever heard of them doing this and being wrong? I want to believe that she is just an innocent victim. But I am having a hard time buying that.

Any experience or input is greatly appreciated.

2. MakiSupaStar

MakiSupaStar The Lowdown Diggler

Apr 12, 2006
    Huntington Beach, CA