1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

E# Maj 7th with a corkscrew? Huh?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by BottomFeederJax, Jan 24, 2008.

1. Im a total noob to theory, Ive been playing for 6 months and I just dont understand this stuff, Ive read a bunch of stuff on it and my gf has tried to teach me some stuff, but I just cant get it.
    The only thing I think I get is that Major has sharps and Minor has flats, is that right? And I also dont understand what makes it a 7th or 3rd on any other number. Im sorry Im too dumb to get this:bawl:, but can someone please explain it to me in very simple terms? Or at least point me somewhere that explains it well?

2. brake

brake

Jun 23, 2003
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    The Major/Minor thing you posted is wrong. Learn about key signatures, my friend.

3. PocketGroove82

PocketGroove82

Oct 18, 2006
    Japan
    There is a permanent, failsafe way to construct any scale. Each scale has it's own "formula" of half-steps and whole-steps, and it is always the same, on every instrument, every day of the week.

A half-step is the difference in the pitches created by moving from one fret, to the next adjacent fret. So, it's like going from fret 1 to fret 2 on the E string. Or like going from fret 7 to fret 6 on the G string. (If you look on the piano, these are like side by side keys)

A Whole-step is the different in the pitches created by moving from one fret to another pitch which is 2 frets away. So, it's like going from fret 1 to fret 3 on the E string. Or like going from fret 7 to fret 5 on the G string. (If you look on the piano, these are keys which have one other key in between them.

If you got that, then you can pretty much construct any scale out there if you know the formula of halfsteps and wholesteps.

The major scale (sometimes called the Ionian mode) is always