1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

E string buzzes at 12th fret

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Peepaleep, Oct 3, 2013.

1. Peepaleep

Peepaleep Supporting Member

Nov 3, 2010
    Las Cruces, NM
    Hello all - setup noob here. I just set up my bass and I love how it plays with one little exception, I've got some buzz at the 12th fret of the E string. Since there is no buzz anywhere else on the neck does this mean that the 13th fret is a little high at the E string? Can I try gently tamping it down with a mallet to see if that helps?

2. RSBBass

RSBBass

Jun 11, 2011
    NYC
    On an open string, the 12 fret is where there is the most string movement. You may need a slightly higher action, or more relief. It is possible you have a high fret but do not hit the fret with a mallet. Use a straight edge that just fits from the 12th to the 14th fret. If the 13th is high, it will rock slightly on it.

If the fret is high, it may have come loose. If the fret is loose, it usually is just on one side. If you can press it back in it is loose. If not, you need to have the fret dressed.

A loose fret can be glued back in using thin CA glue while holding the the fret down with a dowel. Any glue squeeze out can be cleaned up with a razor blade. Unless you have some experience, dressing a fret is best left to a pro. For just one fret it should not be too expensive.

3. Peepaleep

Nov 3, 2010
    Las Cruces, NM
    Thanks. I should clarify - the E string buzzes when I fret the note at the 12th fret, not when the open string is played. I just checked it with a metal straight edge and to be honest I can't tell if any of the frets are high or not. That probably means I should take it to the shop, right?

4. If it buzzes, check the 13th fret for height. That's the one that the string comes closest to when you fret at the 12th.

5. john m