Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ear Training

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by jogguz, Oct 12, 2005.

1. jogguz

jogguz

Oct 12, 2005
    Hi this is my first post and my first time on the site.
    I have been playing the bass for about a year now, self taught and i feel i am at a capable level and now i really want to start ear training. All i know about it is what it achieves, but i din't know how to do it, so has anyone got any tips on how to do it without a teacher, if you do i'd really appreciate it. thanks!!

2. narcopolo

narcopolo

Sep 12, 2005
    richmond, va
    sit down at a keyboard. sing the scales as you play the notes. once you feel good about this, try to sing them without playing them. also, try to identify intervals - play two random notes and try to figure out whether they were a perfect fifth or a major third, etc. then, try to sing the different intervals. if you can sing them, you can play them.

3. adisu

adisu I admit it, I'm a "user"

Apr 8, 2005
    Israel
    First you got to learn the basic interval theory..(minor 2 ,major 2, minor 3 ,major 3, ETC).
    If you already know all the intervals you can sit down with your bass guitar or a keyboard and play the intervals while singing, later sing the intervals alone without playing the BG and after that compare what you sang to the real interval pitch and check yourself.
    You should practice a lot and let it penetrate into your brain.
    When you fill ready you can sit and listen some patterns on song you like (start with easy ones) and try to analize the intervals and the riff you hear.

Good luck ;)
    Adisu.

4. adisu

adisu I admit it, I'm a "user"

Apr 8, 2005
    Israel
    Hey mate.
    I was just wandering the internet looking for some theory for myself when i found this very nice site that can be very helpful for you...