earplugs during concerts?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by dean5master, Dec 14, 2005.

1. dean5master

Feb 20, 2005
    well ive been playing bass for three years and have only played in like small worship bands in churches and camps.recently ive joined a Christian hardcore/metal/emo/punk band and will be playing louder music......does anyone wear earplugs? i want to be able to hear my music but not lose my hearing..and if you do wear earplugs which are the best to use?
  2. there are custom fit ones that are made for music. they are made to just drop the db level and nothign else. they are like $100 but worth it to save your hearing. i don't use ear plugs but i should sometimes

3. Custom fit are the best of course, but Etymotic ER-20 are very good, and should cost about $20. They lower the volume by 20 dB across all frequencies.
  4. seanm

seanm I'd kill for a Nobel Peace Prize! Supporting Member

Feb 19, 2004
    Ottawa, Canada
    I don't need earplugs during concerts, but I am going to have to start wearing them at practices :(

At practices the amps face me, so I get the full effect. At gigs, the guitar amp is on the other side of the drums and the PA (such as it is) is in front of me, so the volume is not as loud.

It's not bad, so I am hoping some industrial earplugs will do. I consider it bad if your ears are ringing after the practice or concert.
  5. I didnt know hardcore/meta/emo and punk could be melded together liek that, and then to add christain to that just blows my mind!

ya get earplugs
  6. You absolutely NEED to wear earplugs in this situation if you don't want to suffer permanent hearing loss. If you don't yet own ear plugs, purchase some before your next practice, even if you're planning on getting some special fitted ones.
  7. msquared

Sep 19, 2004
    Kansas City
    There is a long discussion on earplugs here: http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3743