1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by backline112, Mar 30, 2009.

1. backline112

backline112 Guest

Jun 3, 2008
    Rant:

I sent an email to the admissions office asking if they accept Electric Bass into their Jazz Studies and Contemporary Media program, and they replied this:

What the F***!?

As if Electric Bass wasn't a real instrument. I felt their answer was kind of "racist" against Electric Bass. Why would they also audition you on Classical Guitar? I started playing guitar one month ago but Bass is still my "main" instrument and the most interesting from my perspective. Ugh.

2. Well I'm not defending it and I don't think it's right, but electric bass is bass guitar. Maybe that's their rationale? I don't quite understand the bias against electric bass in jazz, especially in conservatories. The only one I saw that accepted electric bass was Berklee. Maybe in 50 years it'll be part of the curriculum-jazz took a while to be accepted by academia too, didn't it?

3. backline112

backline112 Guest

Jun 3, 2008
    The University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music accepts Electric Bass to their Jazz program. Quite awesome.

4. Ripper

Ripper

Aug 16, 2005
    NY/NC
    its U of R... they're just weird there

5. bass isn't a race

anyways, the problem with academia is that they seem uninterested in exploring new territory, but they only want to rehash old jazz over and over again...probably has more to do with the faculty than the school itself...

6. BassChuck

BassChuck Supporting Member

Nov 15, 2005
    Cincinnati