Easy to transcribe songs/artists

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by romac, Jun 10, 2004.

1. I'm just starting to learn to songs by ear with my new Tascam CD-BT1 but with my current crop of CD's I'm having a lot of trouble learning the songs since they are quite complex bass lines. I was just wondering if there is an album you suggest I buy that has realtively easy basslines to learn by ear?? I don't mean playing just 3 notes a song ala Blink 182, but just something other than things like Red Hot Chili Peppers, Miles Davis, Jamiroquai, Motown etc.....

Thanks for any help.
  2. wulf

Apr 11, 2002
    Oxford, UK
    How about AC/DC? I'm mainly familiar with their 1970's output - cracking rock songs which generally have very simple but effective basslines.

However, whatever you listen to, don't forget to work out the general shape of the song before getting too hung up on details!

3. JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    Early Beatles...maybe even Revolver & Rubber Soul.
  4. leanne

May 29, 2002
    Rochester, NY
    Curtis Mayfield, maybe?
  5. It often helps to choose a band where the bassist follows the guitarist more than just doing their own thing. I did all my early learning with Black Sabbath and AC/DC (AC/DC were so consistent in their style that, from very early on, I could even tune the bass using one of their songs).

My current favs are Queensryche (their later stuff), Eddie Jackson has a stunning mid-focussed bass sound, plays interesting but not too complex lines and is very clear in the mix (important). Take a look at Empire (Remaster) or Promised Land from a high mix standpoint. They do tend to play in a darker key which means that you need to listen to their songs quite a few times before you really get in the groove, but then "Wow". Steer clear of Tribe, which is a great CD but the bass has been lost in the mix much of the time - Pity.

Ultimately, just two rules: