1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

EB/MM Sterling neck issues?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Subculture13, Apr 21, 2006.

1. Subculture13

Subculture13 Jamming Econo

Apr 9, 2003
    Toronto, Ont. Canada
    I used to work for a band (guitar/bass tech) and the bassist used Sterlings. A few years ago, when they still had birdseye maple fretboards.

The necks ALWAYS needed the truss adjusted, sometimes twice during the course of a whole day. I know venue changes and all that climate stuff, I am no newbie, but still, even when sitting around the space with it on tour breaks, the thing ALWAYS needed tweaking. So much so that the owner insisted that I keep an allen key in my pocket so I can adjust it on the fly at anytime, anywhere.

I bought a Sterling last year, brand new custom ordered for me. It doesn't have the birdseye maple fretboard and I hadn't (at the time) heard anything about this problem from anywhere else, so I assumed it was a thing of the past, or limited tothe birdseye somehow. Well, no, my bass does it too, the neck is in a constant state of change... and it never leaves my bedroom!!!

Am I alone with this problem? Is there a fix that I may not know about? I need to give it a full fret dress as is (see my comments #3 here: http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?t=244261Is ) among other things, so if I'm taking the time to fix all it's problems, why not that too?

2. I find that the tuning on mine goes off slightly, fairly often. Not nearly as bad as my formed Godin BG4 though, which could be out by as much as 1/2 a semi-tone within a song or two.

I don't know if I can attribute that to the truss-rod, but the simple cure is to re-tune for me.

Perhaps its the way I play. (I don't have a birds-eye maple).

- Andrew Shirley

3. Figjam

Figjam