Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ebass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by PIZZAcato, Mar 13, 2006.

1. Hey everyone I've been on the DB side of this forum for a while but never on this side! Anyway I play alot of jazz and have played crap-loads of electrics but still do not own one!
    Anyway, what I'm trying to do is buy a good bass from ebay for jazz but I don't really know what is a good bet to buy or what is crap. If anyone could give me some pointers it would be appreciated. Thanks.

-Mike

P.S. Also I kind of need a versatile one cause I play alot of prog rock too!

2. Now I'm not an expert, but my advice would be to look at a Geddy Lee jazz bass. I've only heard good things about it, and the neck is heavenly. A new one costs around $700, so shop around.

P.S. Welcome to the cool side of the forums

3. Pennydreadful

Pennydreadful Goin out West

Jun 13, 2005
    Arlington, Texas
    Eh, I dunno if I'd wanna use a Geddy for jazz. Plus, the smaller neck on it might not be that great for somebody accustomed to playing upright.

4. Woodchuck

Woodchuck

Apr 21, 2000
    Atlanta / Macon (sigh)
    Gallien Krueger for the last 12 years!
    I don't know your budget, but I'd suggest a Lakland Skyline or Sadowsky Metro.

5. Sound Chaser

Sound Chaser

Mar 19, 2005
    Lockport, NY
    As far as prog goes, Rickenbacker and Fender are probably the best. What kind of prog do you play?