Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ebay impulse buying - good idea? Help!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by tifa, Apr 18, 2005.

1. tifa

tifa Padawan Bassist

Mar 8, 2005
    Blackburn, UK
    Hi everyone :)

Now I'm a newbie, both to the forums and the bass. I really want a good quality starter bass, I've been looking at some low to mid range Yamaha's and I'm leaning towards them.

So I'm lookin on Ebay today, and as if by magic....... a RBX374 has gone up for sale. I really like the look of these basses and I've seen some great reviews. (Hey, I know its not a Ric but it'll do for me, I'm just punching my weight here!)

What I want to know is, is it a good idea to just buy a bass off Ebay without having tried a similar one out or anything? If I buy this am I going to regret it forever?

Here's the link: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7316138765&rd=1&sspagename=STRK:MEWA:IT&rd=1

The feedback is really good, I've also sent a question asking if it has been gigged.

So what do you lot think - is it a case of Ebay madness or am I on to a good deal here?

(Mods - sorry if this is in the wrong forum feel free to move it!)

2. Marlat

Marlat

Sep 17, 2002
    London UK
    Hook up with NicktheBassist and Toasted for one of their bass shopping expaditions! :D

3. Razor

Razor

Sep 22, 2002
    Dallas
    The feedback looks good from the seller. I generally don't buy many instruments unless I can play them first, but now that I think about it the last three I got were through the mail and I was able to buy from people I knew pretty well.

The bass you're looking at is a pretty nice one..if it's not your thing I wouldn't foresee having much difficulty passing it on along.

4. Marlat

Marlat

Sep 17, 2002
    London UK