Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ebay - Pre-CBS?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jenderfazz, May 13, 2005.

1. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

I am no Fender expert. But the Precisions from 1958(or '59) through the mid sixties were only available with rosewood boards IIRC. And I am almost 100% positive that natural/maple was not available until the early 70's. And the headstock logo certainly looks early 70's.

2. Vic

Vic There's more music in the nuance than the notes. Gold Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2002
    Central Illinois
    Staff, Bass Gear Magazine
    It's not PreCBS. It's not an L series serial number, and I think ALL but MAYBE a very few transition models in 65-66 were L series. Regardless, there's no way it's a '61. Also, that's an Ash body. I could be wrong, but I didn't think they had those until the 70's. Looks like an early-mid 70's to me. Either the guy's an idiot, or a crook.

3. Ash was mostly used in the 1950s, and again after 1972 or so. The finish is natural - that didn't exist in the 60s, only blonde (which did have ash... but it's much yellower).

4. Vic

Oct 14, 2002
    Central Illinois
    I'm gonna' have to recant...

Also found this same info on another site. Never mind me, I'm an idiot. It's late. Time to sleep. *sigh*

5. BurningSkies

BurningSkies CRAZY BALDHEAD

Feb 20, 2005
    Seweracuse, NY
    Even if the number was right, there's no way it's anything but a 70's bass. The logo, finish, body wood, all wrong.

6. bassaussie

bassaussie

Oct 6, 2001
    Portugal