Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

***? Ebay scam.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Garrett Mireles, Jun 19, 2004.

1. Maybe he got scammed prior to this. :smug:

2. He sounds like a total newbie. He says ACTIVE PICKUPS in all caps, like it's super special. Then he says a neck thru is rare (***?).

Normally I'm pretty mellow, but sh*t like this pisses me off so much, and I don't know why lol.

3. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Maybe its the NS2000/5 which IS neck through?

4. Maybe. But that model is only $1,050 LIST price. No way this guy payed $1500 for it, unless he got scammed. I say HE'S the scammer, he sounds like a newbie.

5. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    I dont think merely saying what he 'payed' is scamming. People are smart enough to research the bass themselves.

6. Before Spector started making the newer more affordable basses, their basses were pretty high-end and not cheap. This could be one of the original Spectors. Though, it is curious that there is no model number info and the picture looks like it's straight from Musician's Friend. This eBay member has been around since 2000 so that's usually a good indication that they're not fly-by-night.

I'd get model number info and ask Spector about it before coming to any conclusions about it being a scam. I tried out a Spector back in 1992 or so and it was pretty slick. That was way before you could get a bass that good for less than $1000. Someone should find out about it.

- Dave

7. shredhead

shredhead

Apr 25, 2004
    He's probably just saying to scam some people and make money. or maybe it really is an original. I personally think that he got scammed and is trying to scam someone else

8. karrot-x

karrot-x Banned

Feb 21, 2004
    Omicron Persei 8