1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

ebay seller wants more money for item- what am i getting into here??

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by groooooove, Jan 26, 2012.

1. groooooove

groooooove Supporting Member

Dec 17, 2008
    Long Island, NY
    earlier today i placed a $200 bid on a sabian 22" HHX manhattan jazz ride. they retail for $420, so it was a pretty good price. it ended hours later, i won. great. i send payment. then a minute later i log in and i have this message from the seller-

Hi! i just noticed that you bought my item here... i am terribly sorry.. and this is becuase i am new to Ebay... i've had the account for a while but haven;t used it in 5 yrs...
    this is a barely used cymbal that is sold for more than 400 dollars new.. i don;t know why
    my reserve price was met at only 200... again i'm so sorry, what can we do about this? is there any way to deal with that? i'm not trying to scam you or anything... i'm willing to repost the cymbal for 250 buy it now price and just give it to you... but 200 i'm really loosing money. for 200 i can go to a store and the would give me that amount without having to ship or anything... really sorry, please let me know what i can do.
    Cheers

Ale

i responded saying i understand, but unfortunately thats why ebay offers reserve price options and lets you set the starting price, and that he is infact obligated to sell me the cymbal.

so, has anyone been here before?

2. Steve

Steve

Aug 10, 2001
    No but, if I was, the guy would know I expected the transacti0on to proceed according to the agreement or I would rain as many toads on him as I could.

good luck

3. groooooove

Dec 17, 2008
    Long Island, NY
    but what exactly CAN i do if he says send me more cash or im not shipping it?