Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

"Ebonized" -- what is that stuff?

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Damon Rondeau, Nov 20, 2002.

1. Damon Rondeau

Damon Rondeau Journeyman Clam Artist Supporting Member

Nov 19, 2002
    Winnipeg, baby
    Hello everyone,

I'm messing around fixing up a cheap-o Chinese plywood bass. It has an "ebonized" fingerboard of unknown hardwood.

I'd like to repair an ugly gouge in the fingerboard, and I'd like to finish it in so it looks good as new ("good" being used relatively here.) Trouble is, I don't recognize what the "ebonizing" substance is. I have a lot of cabinetmaking experience, but that material is something I'm not familiar with. I'd believe anything from stove-black to boot polish.

If anyone knows what that stuff is likely to be, I'd like to know.

Damon Rondeau
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    CANADA

2. I think stewmac offers some kind of black dye for wood, it might work. And I think "ebonized" just means "blackened" and nothing else.

3. Marcus Johnson

Marcus Johnson

Nov 28, 2001
    Maui
    That'd be Stewart-Macdonald, a luthiery supply company, just in case;)

4. Damon Rondeau

Nov 19, 2002
    Winnipeg, baby
    Thx for the info. I'm aware of the various types of aniline dyes that are used (most familiar with water soluble powders.) In general cabinetmaking, that's what you're likely to encounter when someone shows you an "ebonized" piece of stock. The dye soaks into the wood fibres; that's why it's called "dye" and not "stain", "varnish", or "paint". It leaves the grain visible and generally is pretty cool stuff.

But I don't think that's what this "ebonized" stuff is. The stuff on this board seems to have been built up a bit (2 coats?); either that, or it goes on really thick then sets up. If I had to compare it to anything, I'd say its like a paint that dries to a dull matte finish.