1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Ebony bleeding into maple...

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by JSPguitars, Apr 26, 2006.

1. JSPguitars

JSPguitars

Jan 12, 2004
    Grass Valley
    It's hard to see in this crappy pic, but after doing some wet-sanding to my neck, the macassar ebony has bled into the figured maple where the 'figure' is.
    What can I do about this? ANy tricks you guys know of? Or is this just the Nature of the Beast?

2. I'm not sure what the fix is at this point other than sanding past the contaminated portions.

A future fix is seal the area to be protected with shellac. This will prevent dust from contaminating and will sand off easy or be fine left in place for most finishes.

3. Yellow

Yellow

Apr 20, 2006
    Sooke, BC, Canada
    You know I am not an expert at all on building basses, I would like to try..., but I do woodworking and found that sometimes contamination if not too deep can be removed carefully with alcohol and a q-tip then resand carefully.

It is a hack of a nice looking bass, man, very nice looking transition into the body, looks killer.

My email

My Site

4. Dirk Diggler

Dirk Diggler Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Anytown USA
    Maybe it's me, but why do you want to wet sand, dry seems to work well if you have a lot different grits, and water does horrible things to the fibers and finish of the wood. I mean I understand after finish or a fretboard but raw wood that I don't get.
    I guess I'm not a wet sand convert yet, so please tell me why you think it's so great.

In any case good luck on the project it looks great and the shaping of the transition is awesome!
    Dirk

5. JSPguitars

JSPguitars

Jan 12, 2004
    Grass Valley