Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ebony bridge adjusters

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by BassGreaser, Aug 31, 2003.

1. BassGreaser

BassGreaser

Aug 22, 2002
    Austin, TX
    does anyone know where I could buy ebony adjusters

2. IMO the best ebony adjusters are the ones made by Stenholm for Robertson & Sons Violin Shop in Albuqurque, NM. I use them on all of my basses and I've been installing them on customer's instruments since 1995. I believe Lemur Music handles the end user sales. The Robertson adjusters posts are larger in diameter (5/16" x 18tpi) than the usual (1/4" x 20tpi) aluminum adjusters and require much greater skill and accuracy for successful installation. The legs on some bridges are too narrow for safe installation of these adjusters. Robertsons recommends using paraffin and talc for lubrication.

3. BassGreaser

BassGreaser

Aug 22, 2002
    Austin, TX
    Thank you Bob!!

4. arnoldschnitzer

arnoldschnitzer AES Fine Instruments

Feb 16, 2002
    Brewster, NY, USA
    Two minor corrections, Bob: The Stenholms have a 7/16 thread, not a 5/16. And Don Robertson informed me that the shafts are no longer made of ebony, and the adjusters are completely composite now. He feels this makes them more consistent, with sharper threads. I installed a set yesterday, with excellent results. BTW, I like candle wax (paraffin) and graphite powder for lube.

5. BassGreaser

BassGreaser

Aug 22, 2002
    Austin, TX
    forgive me for my dumdness, but the adjusters are made out of composite?