Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ebony neck w/ purpleheart laminates

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by TydidezDiomedez, Mar 2, 2006.

1. TydidezDiomedez

TydidezDiomedez

Feb 27, 2006
    Hi all,

I was looking through Alembic's featured custom archives and happened upon a twelve string guitar w/ an Ebony neck and purpleheart laminates:

http://www.alembic.com/info/FC_dt12string.html

I've never seen anything like this (perhaps 'cause I'm a total newb) and a search of these forums yielded only discussions regarding ebony fretboards, rather than the entire neck being made of ebony. I was wondering what would be the pros and cons of having such a neck on a bass. Would it be unbearably heavy? Unbalanced i.e. prone to neck dive? How would the sound be affected? I bet it would cost an arm and a leg too.

Your thoughts would be appreciated - Thanks.

2. Zachass

Zachass Peavey Partizan

I don't know about all that, but it sure as hell looks sweet.

3. Mark Wilson

Mark Wilson Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jan 12, 2005
    Toronto, Ontario
    Endorsing Artist: Elixir® Strings
    I'd kill for an Alembic. But that has too much Purple.
    IMO.

-Mark

4. Bryan R. Tyler

Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002 Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2002
    Connecticut
    I've had a neck made with wenge (similar weight to ebony) and purpleheart, and it is indeed a bit heavy and a bit prone to neck dive.

I've also played one bass with an all-Macassar ebony neck and fretboard, and it had massive neck dive...it felt like it was made from a white dwarf star, it weighed so much. But it did have a totally unique tone.

5. tribal3140

tribal3140 Banned

Nov 9, 2004
    near detroit...uh