1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

EBS Octabass...any good?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by cnltb, Nov 23, 2018.

1. cnltb

cnltb

May 28, 2005
    I don't see this pedal mentioned as much as some others and am wondering...is there anything 'not right' with it?

How would you , who know more about it , rate it when comparing it to other analogue octave downs.

Thanks!

2. Zbysek

Zbysek

Mar 23, 2017
    Czech Republic
    I have been using it for several years and I like it. It's very good, I love it's sound and flexibility. The tracking is not perfect, though...

3. the low one

the low one

Feb 21, 2002
    UK
    I currently use the MXR BOD but have toyed with the idea of switching to the EBS. Would I be mad to do that? Is there anything the EBS can do that the MXR can't? I don't really find a use for the mid boost on the MXR. Having said that the basic function of the MXR is very good and having 2 differently voiced octaves, and a dry with switchable mid boost makes it very versatile.
    I've never tried the EBS but people like Tony Levin and Scott Devine use it.

Last edited: Nov 23, 2018
    Zbysek likes this.
  4. Aloe

Aloe

Apr 10, 2016
    Ukraine
    it's a nice pedal.

however, compressor after it can increase noise, the manufacturer recommends placing compressor before.
    I also like to run mine at like 11V, it sounds better to me than at 9V.

in fact, every analog octave down has it's voice, OC-2 won/t sound like Octabass or Octabass won't sound like MXR, so `rating' them is kinda useless -- it's like about what sound do you dig eventually.

5. Zbysek

Zbysek

Mar 23, 2017
    Czech Republic
    What I like about the EBS octabass is the range switch. It's like having three octavers in one pedal. I have no experience with BOD, so I don't know whether one can achieve the same flexibility using the Growl and Girth knobs...