Eden 210XST

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Peter Parker, Nov 16, 2002.

1. Peter Parker

Peter Parker Banned

Jun 10, 2001
    I bought one of these from the fine folks at Eden the other day and must say, it's an excellent cabinet. I was looking for something small and powerful for practices and since I've been using Eden for 10 years I thought I would stay with them. Now, I am a fan of the Eden lowmid hump so I was a little apprehensive about the XST line since it was supposed to be a "flatter response" sort of cab. Of course I don't believe in this flat response BS that everyone seems so caught up in. There's no such thing as an uncolored cabinet. Sure, some cabs color less than others but.... Anyway, the XST definitely has a different sound than the XLT's. Both have really nice midrange but voiced differently. The XST is a little more open sounding in the upper mids with less lowmids than the XLt. XST is less compressed and a good bit smoother. I like the lows a little better in the XST as well, a little deeper and again more open.
    Oddly enough, the cabinet I think this sounds the most like is the Epifani 310 I have. They sound very similar but what is strange is that the 210XST sounds deeper than the Epi. I would have thought the other way around. The Epi is very nice but I prefer the XST.
    I can't compare the XST 210 to the XST410 because I haven't played through one. Right now I'm using a 410XLT underneath the 210. I really like the XLT but if the XST410 sounds as good as think it might, I may get one of them as well.
    To sum up: the XST is a new direction for Eden that, while it shouldn't be a replacement for the XLT series, it does offer a great alternative to the standard Eden tone that I think many will like.
  2. Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX