Eden, Mesa, and power amp Question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bazzhed4, Nov 13, 2003.

1. bazzhed4

Aug 2, 2003
    Aberdeen MD
    OK ppl. heres the deal. ive been playing bass for about 4 years now and i have always played a single head single cabinet setup. my most recent and current setup is a M-Pulse 600 and a Eden 410 XLT. ive been thinking about geting a 2x15 to go with it as my band is starting to get bigger gig opportunities and playing bigger stages. my rig has done well with small and mid sized rooms but this upcoming summer we may actually be playing some outdoor festivals and bigger venues.

So my question is this. What is my best bet to add more volume without sacrificing tone. I have a 4 ohm eden cabinet and the mesa is only rated to go down to four so i know that i cant just add another cab. can i use my slave out into a power amp and still run my 4x10 out of my head at the same time or is it one or the other. what would you reccomend to add to this setup for a lettle extra low end. my mids and highs are to die for but i seem to be sacrificing in the low dept and with all the talk about cone creasing in the eden 410 xlt i dont want to push it too hard. by the way i use stingray and thumb 5 strings so i get good growl out of both. i have been playing around with my sound and i now have it exactly what i have been looking for and now i just need more.

oh and by the way...inn case you are all wondering why i need more sound....i am playing with two guitarists...both running triple rectifier mesa boogies thru marshall half's....and they are both talking about going with full stacks......i can hang with them fine now...but if they go to full stacks im going to get lost. you know them f***ing guitarists.

any help would be appreciated. any reccomendations on amp brands. im pretty much set on eden for the cab but if you wnat to recommend a brand of cab that would be cool too.

thanx in advance for listening to a quasi newbie.