1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Eden Metro Question/Opinion

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by silvermaneZ, May 16, 2001.

1. silvermaneZ

silvermaneZ Supporting Member

Oct 10, 2000
    Houston, TX
    Welcome all. I just looked through all the old threads and did not see anything about this combo, so I figured I would ask.

I am looking for a new sound. The Hartke head/Carvin cabinets I have been using for the past 5 years are just not doing it for me anymore. I have been looking all over the net at reviews of powerful combo amps that I could get, and the Eden seems to be a pretty good choice. My question is this: Is this combo worth the money in a live situation? I know that I can make the drive to Bass Central (3+hours) to try it out, but I don't think they would let me take it and try it live before I pay for it. So, will this one hack it live? The club I play at holds about 1000 people. We have a good PA, so I need clarity in my sound more than raw power; just enough volume to be heard over the two Marshall combos going into my left ear.

Any opinions or suggestions would be appreciated. Also, if there are any other combos in the same price range (<>$1000) that would work better in my situation, let me know that also.

Thanks!

2. Copycat

Copycat Supporting Member

Nov 14, 2000
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    There were a couple of Super Redheads by SWR on bassgear a while back. That's very much the amp that the Metro compares to (in fact, I think the Metro was developed to compete with the Redhead).

Good luck.

3. captainpabst

captainpabst

Mar 18, 2001
    Tennessee