Eden Navigator and WT1000

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Peter Parker, Mar 6, 2002.

1. Peter Parker

Peter Parker Banned

Jun 10, 2001
    I just bought this system after much debate and trying out of many other brands. I've been using Eden for 8 years and the time had come that I needed more power and so the search began. I really like Eden amps and they work great for my style but I thought after 8 years it was time for a change. I tried all the big names: EA, Aguilar, EBS and speakers from Epifani, Bergantino...etc. I didn't like the Aguilar at all though I did try out the new 750 ss/tube head at a name show and thought it sounded good. I really liked the EA's though I didn't feel they offered the power I needed. The EBS sounded good but was missing something.
    As far as speakers go, maybe I'm missing something but I didn't hear anything out of the ordinary when I listened to the Epi's, EA's or Berg's. They sounded good but I don't see where they've improved on what Eden has already accomplished.
    In relation to the thread about power amps and whether bass specific amps are better than the Crown's, Mackie's, QSC's.. well that thread got me curious so a friend and I tried out several amps and compared them to the WT 1000. We both heard quite a difference. I thought in general most of the amps sounded very clean, detailed but quite sterile. The Eden, with it's front panel tone knobs whether used or set flat, had a considerable amount of more warmth and fullness in the lows than the others. I'm extremely impressed with the WT1000 and it puts out a lot of pure watts. It sounded at least twice as loud as the Mackie 1400 and a few others that had higher output ratings.