Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Eden WP100 preamp vs Eden WT550 preamp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jibreel, Feb 3, 2006.

1. jibreel

jibreel

Apr 12, 2005
    Seattle
    First, please forgive my ignorance as I am just getting into the Eden’s.

My stuff:

Turner Ren 5-strings both a fretless and a fretted
    Rob Allen MB-2 5-string fretless
    Eden WT 550 preamp/amp
    Acoustic Image contra combo amp/cab
    Acoustic Image extension cabinet

I use the Contra combo by itself
    I am just starting to use the WT550 into the extension cab

I am experimenting with going out of the WT550 recording xlr output straight into the Contra amp. So I am using two preamps and the AI power amp. I like the added warmth of the Eden along with the semi-parametric eq. If I was to continue with this setup, it would seem to make more sense to sell the WT550 and just get a WP100.

I am obviously after the more " organic/acoustic" sound given my basses. I mostly play world music venues.

So the question is:

How much more sound quality/sound control would the WP100 preamp provide over the preamp in the WT550?

Thanks for any input

Jibreel

P.S. I am lucky to live in Seattle so I get to experiment a lot at Bass Northwest. I have tried quite a few cabinets and I think the AI cabinets are right up there at the top. Do keep in mind that I play at substantially lower volumes than most of you probably do and in mostly acoustic settings. I got an EA VL110 today from Bass NW { used } and compared it to the AI cab. It is great, but I am going to stick with the AI

2. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego