Eden WT800B or SWR SM-900 ??

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by themagicmedicin, Feb 22, 2006.

1. I'd like some advice on which would be better suited for me. I currently use an Ampeg SVT-4Pro through BXT cabs, a 210 and a 115. I like it OK, but it doesn't have the kind of clarity I'm looking for, seems good for my rock days, but a little to muddy for the slap and funk I'm into now. Enter Eden or SWR.

Of course both amps are post-takeover of their respective companies, washburn and fender, but I don't put too much stock into rumors of hardware changes since changes by nature cost money to implement, track, repair, etc. I work as an EE and can testify that changes are the worst, and you certainly wouldn't change something to make it lousy only to increase the warranty to 5 years and be forced to repair it.

Any ideas? general comments about the tone of the two amplifiers... I've never actually played either.
  2. pickles

pickles Supporting Member

Mar 23, 2000
    Ventura, CA
    Before you go changing amps, spend some more time with the 4's EQ. I use an SVP-Pro (simmilar to the 4's preamp) for ALL styles of music and am able to cop all kinds of great modern funk sounds with it. The pre section is ultra flexible and should allow you to dial things in reeeeel nice, if you're patient enough to mess with it.

If its muddy, use less lows or lo mids (turn the ultra lo switch off!), use the ultra high, change the mid freq ... so many ways to fix that. The 4 pro is a good head.

I'm not sure how good your cabs are, having never played a BXT ... you might try some other cabs with your head as well ...

All that said, the SM-900 and WT800 are both great heads that themselves have flexible EQ. You HAVE to try them out with your cabs and see which tone you like better if you're going to lay out that kind of cash. It would suck to drop $1400 and not be any happier with your tone.
  3. msquared

Sep 19, 2004
    Kansas City