Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Eden XST over XLT for C# Low Tuning?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Lazlo Panaflex, Mar 4, 2004.

1. Lazlo Panaflex

Lazlo Panaflex

Sep 30, 2003
    Ok as i am still new to the art of cabs, but any thoughts/suggestions would be helpful :)

I currently have Eden 2x10 XLT and a 1x10 XLT powered by a GK 1001RB-II. Recently when ive been playing hard (at a show not usually in practice) the cabs will distort and sound very "farty."

And i did just replace the battery in my ray with no luck :(

Anyways my question, is it WORTH it to switch from a 2x10 XLT to an XST because its able to handle lows better?

My band despite my pleas will not change from our radicle C#, G#, C#, F# tuning :(

2. Gard

Gard Commercial User

Mar 31, 2000
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    General Manager, Roscoe Guitars
    Lazlo -

I won't guarantee that the XST won't "fart", however, the XST cabs are rated to handle MUCH lower frequencies than the XLT's, plus they handle more power, so they will be less likely to distort from being pushed hard. I'd recommend trying one out if you can, if you can't PM me, and I can make a recommendation that will help you out.

3. bassic1959

bassic1959

Jan 16, 2003
    I usually pair up my 210 XLT with a 115XLT. No problem with the low B with this combo pushed with an SVP-Pro and RMX 1450. One thing about the Eden cabs that is annoying in the farting sound coming out of the 1/4 jacks when pushing a lot of air. Try plugging the unused jacks.

4. pistoleroace

pistoleroace

Sep 13, 2002
    WI