Effects for Psychedelic stoner

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Conkal, Mar 30, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Conkal

Conkal

Jun 23, 2017
    Athens, Greece
    I am discussing with some friends to enter their band. They self describe the band [which i havent heard and it didnt have any recordings] as psychedelic/heavy stoner band, it is a style that is huge in the local underground-ish scene

I am not an expert in stoner sub-genres or in stoner rock per se. but i understand that a heavily processed sound is expected.

I have some effects that would cover most cases in my other bands. [OD, fuzz, chorus, compressor]

What kind of not-so-common effect would be usefull for my case?

I am into building effects my self DIY style so it would be a nice opportunity to get myself building .

2. bholder

bholder Affable Sociopath Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

Sep 2, 2001
    Vestal, NY
    Received a gift from Sire* (see sig)
    I've always wanted an envelope-controlled chorus (or phaser) where the envelope affects the sweep speed rather than directly affecting the sweep itself - so it's not constantly repeating itself, but giving each note attack that vowel-like thing. Ought to just build one I guess.

3. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism

I would not describe any stoner rock as using a heavily processed sound. Most stoner rock bands are pretty raw rock bands with a heavy blues influence. Kind of like a more aggressive Southern rock. I wouldn't say anything other than dirt and a loud rig are necessary.

P-oddz and hintz like this.
  4. DDXdesign

DDXdesign formerly 'jammadave' Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 15, 2003
    Vegas
    Op-amp Muff plus a dual-LFO Phaser like the Phase 99 should be plenty psychedelic/stonery (thinking mid-90s alternative/post-grunge personally)

mattbass6945 likes this.
  5. Conkal

Conkal

Jun 23, 2017
    Athens, Greece