Effects Mad Scientists... how did you come to be?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Matt Till, Jan 11, 2004.

1. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA
    I get totally blown away by some of you guys that make your own effects/can take them apart and make the something different. Or take a cheapie and make it better. My question, what got you there?

I'm not a complete beginner to the world of electronics, but lets pretend that I am. What's something to get my on the right road. Those of you who do this sort of thing, give me a brief history of how you got to where you are today. Books, websites, whatever. Thanks a lot in advance.
  2. Tecx

Tecx Radio Rock Leads To Sterility

Jun 9, 2002
    Halifax, NS, Canada
    15 volt Soldering Iron - $15

Assload of Rosin Core solder - $10

Various parts (pots, resistors, caps, DPDT switches, solid core wire) - $50

Knowlage gained from the net, and books - Free

A trip to the emergency room for severe electrocution - PRICELESS!..

Knowlage is free, for a trip the the ER - you better have your health care card!!!

But for realz, I started by just takinng everything and anything electrical apart at the age of 12. By the time I was a teenager I had bent, blown, warped, wacked out every electrical item I own... I even circut bent a TV!.. But the bigist help I had was exploration, just make sure it isn't pluged into the wall.. :D

3. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA

This is the main stuff I'm looking into. Especially one and two. I need to get some cash and run to radio shack. Do they have all the various parts too?

Also, do you know of any good websites/books?

I've Frankenstiened some computers before, but that's pretty simple. And took an electronics class in high school that I wasn't interested in at the time, I just slept and played video games during work time.
  4. Tecx

Tecx Radio Rock Leads To Sterility

Jun 9, 2002
    Halifax, NS, Canada