Effects Pedal Database

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by sean_w_mcgrath, Aug 13, 2005.

1. sean_w_mcgrath

sean_w_mcgrath does this forum name make me look fat?

Is there a website out there that has a database of effect pedals? Listing (for each pedal) features, prices, specifications, sound samples, artists who use the pedal, songs you can here the pedal on, links etc?

I am asking this because I have a lot of web development experience, and would be interested in creating such a site.

Is this something you think would be useful and would help at all? If so what type of features would you guys be interested in having? I'm am up in the air about including user's comments and reviews....because I would like this site to contain objective material....and leave the subjective material for forums like this.

What does everyone think?
  2. Petary791

Feb 20, 2005
    Michigan, USA
    The only site I can think of is GuitarGeek, but a lot are missing reviews and prices and sound clips, but it lists the artists that uses the pedal. It is missing quite a few pedals and amps as well, but it's helpful for some things. Also, MusiciansFriend has some sound clips and some reviews, but as you know, you purchase off it, so it's going to be biased. Line6 has clips too.

I do not know a ton about effects, but if you were to make such a site, I would love to help you!
  3. sean_w_mcgrath

sean_w_mcgrath does this forum name make me look fat?

Yeah, this is the best thing out there....but the majority of it is subjective data, and reviews.

It doesn't have useful information such as the polarity of the power supply, etc....stuff like that.
  4. syciprider

syciprider Banned

May 27, 2005
    Inland Empire
    One day tplyons will finish his "work in progress" sticky upstairs. Right t?

But seriously, it sounds like a good, worthwhile idea. Just by hanging out here I can guess some of the info that people who will come to such a site as you are envisioning, would want to know: