Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Effects Terms

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by FenderKid2001, Aug 15, 2000.

1. FenderKid2001

FenderKid2001

Aug 11, 2000
    I'm kind of new to Bass playing and I am still learning the different parts.

What are the different parts and terms of Effects, I've heard something named 'Wah' and stuff like that - Please Explain...

Thank you! :)

-Jason :oops:

2. Ktulu

Ktulu

May 8, 2000
    Hey, man, welcome to the board. :)

I'm not completely sure what you're asking, but I'll do my best to answer.

Most of the time, you're probably not gonna need too many effects with a bass, depending on what kind of music you play. I'll go over some of the common effects that ARE used, and what they do:

Chorus: Bassically (sp intended) chorus sounds like two basses are being played at one time. The effect splits the signal from your bass into two parts, detunes and delays one slightly, then mixes the two back together. This is probably the most common effect used on bass.

Overdrive/Distortion: These just amplify the signal so much that it distorts. It's the same principle that guitar distortion uses, but I don't really think it sounds as good on bass. It can be used in some situations, though.

Compression: I don't have a compressor, but it's something I need. From what I understand, it's used a LOT on bass, especially in recordings. All it does is keeps your volume at a fairly consistent volume. I've heard that it brings the bass out more, makes it sound more "punchy."

Equalization: This just boosts or cuts certain frequencies in the signal from your bass. A very useful tool. The bass/treble controls on a stereo are a kind of EQ, but most units built for musicians are much better. You'll probably have some type of EQ on your amp.