Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Effects?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Bink This :P, Jun 25, 2001.

1. Bink This :P

Bink This :P

Jun 25, 2001
    hey guys im new to this fourm stuff
    im a pretty good bas player (been playing for a year now if you reckons thats crap well i can anything on bass xcept slap! :p) and i reckon bass dont really need efects
    no offence but i reckon if u guys want effects on bass you are really looking forward to a guitar coz bass dont need effects
    ne ways i reckon distortion sounds pretty kewl with bass when u have tone full full tereble no bass
    but bass is like lower sound we dont need pedals? do we?
    coz those guitar dudes can use then
    if we are in a band we dont use em
    you only use em if you suck :p
    so who uses pedals?

2. howdy. i reckon you need to open your mind a little.

3. ChrisRae

ChrisRae

Jan 25, 2001
    North Wales, UK
    Bink,
    Have you been writing English longer than a year?

Good luck, you'll need it!

P.S. (you're not related to JWC are you?)

4. E N G L I S H please?

And, yes, you should open your mind.

And, yes, I use pedals. I have an overdrive and will have more eventually.

And lets see...people who must suck then include: Les Claypool, Flea, Jaco (sounds like distortion), Matt Freeman (distortion on a few songs), myself, Cliff Burton and probly a whole bunch more who I cant think of right now.

5. Newsted

Newsted

Jun 24, 2001
    Greece(athens)
    i agreed bass effects are needed i use a pedal i use distortion and some clean effects like combressor and EQ are needed

6. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

By your standard, every famous bassist who has their signal chain diagrammed in Bass Player sucks.