1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

EH Freeze and echo?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by jay tay, May 19, 2011.

1. jay tay

jay tay

Aug 12, 2009
    Manchester UK
    Hi there, I've just got a new electro harmonix freeze pedal, and I am wanting to use it with some echo. The thing is I only want the echo to effect the sustained notes from the freeze, and not the notes I play over it... I have done this on a dub track in the studio, by simply overdubbing the bass line, how would I get the same affect live, I am relatively new to effects, so any suggestions will be most appreciated, I don't mind experimenting, but I'm at a complete loss!

I have a feeling that it's not going to work, but I'll give anything a go... well almost anything!

2. behndy

behndy Banned

Nov 1, 2008
    California
    you'd have to split the signal somehow. might have to bi-amp too? or at least run a splitter at the end of two bypass loops?

you could have a bypass loop with the Freeze -> Echo, play the note you want, than switch out of that loop and play over it. i THINK that would work. there might be a more elegant way to do it though.

3. MonsterBass101

MonsterBass101

Mar 3, 2008
    SC
    Here is one way. Have 1 AB Splitter and one ABY Switch. Have one cable running straight from the AB to the ABY. Then have the other path with the freeze. Keep the ABY switcher on both paths, and when you switch to the freeze path you can play a note and switch back to play without that note.

Make Sense?

4. WhiteNinja

WhiteNinja

Jan 20, 2011
    Or you can have your Freeze as the last pedal in your chain (or anywhere behind the Reverb).

1) Engage Reverb
    2) Play note/chord
    3) Hold note/chord with the Freeze
    4) Disengage Reverb
    5) Play your overdub
    6) ???
    7) Profit!

That's how I would do it without a splitter or switch.

5. behndy

behndy Banned