1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

EHX Op-Amp Big Muff Pi - love it on guitar, not at all on bass!

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Junta, Jan 1, 2018.

1. Junta

Junta

Aug 11, 2016
    OK, first off, amateur-beginner here... Go easy on me!

Although I have the Earthquaker Devices Cloven Hoof, as well as 5 other fuzz pedals, I had to give the Op-Amp Big Muff Pi a try... I gave the Green Russian Big Muff to a young family member as a X-Mas present, and I was so impressed with what it could do with it on both guitar and bass... But I had to try the Op-Amp Big Muff Pi before I could decide which one to buy for myself.

Short reportback: I love the Op-Amp Big Muff Pi on guitar. It sounds way better than the Earthquaker Cloven Hoof in my opinion, especially with moderate sustain and close to max volume. With that kind of setting, the EHX goes into territory the Cloven oof cannot. As a fan of the Smashing Pumpkins sound, it is difficult to resist. Bass? Look else where I would say. I think the Green Russian Big Muff is much better suited for bass.

So I made this quick recording using the Op-Amp Big Muff Pi on all guitar and bass parts, but I mixed the bass with the clean DI. I increased the Pi's volume in the mix in the end where the guitars go silent and it is drums (EZ Drummer 2) and bass only.

I used a Les Paul Studio Plus (2014) tuned to Drop C and an Ibanez 5 string bass so that I could hit those low Cs to see how the Op-Amp Big Muff Pi sounds that low... MY RESULTS on the bass sucked... With bass, the pedal caves in on itself bigtime - of course I mean in my hands...

I am looking forward to more pro demos of this pedal on both guitar and bass. Cheers!

2. father of fires

father of fires Commercial User

Nov 29, 2006
    BALTIMORE CITY
    Chief of Medicine at Damnation Audio