1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Electric Bass: Tool or Crutch?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by fu22ba55, Dec 7, 2017 at 8:06 AM.

1. fu22ba55

fu22ba55 Supporting Member

Apr 16, 2009
    Deaf
    Does occasional EB practice help or hurt development on upright?

(I've been playing electric for 34 years, and upright for the last 4.5 years)

Sometimes I feel like working things out on electric helps my harmonic understanding, and opens up my mind to new possibilities, but those possibilities often vanish once I attempt them on the upright.

I don't have any reliable piano skills, so when I need to "figure things out" I'll often grab the electric to navigate a path through a complex set of changes, or a tricky bop head.

My current ratio of upright to electric practice time is 80::20. Because if I want to get good on the upright, I have to play the upright. But every time I grab the electric, I'm reminded of MORE things I can do, in more places, which helps me tackle the whole harmonic thing faster.

I feel like focusing solely on upright retards my development in improvisation and music theory. My technique gets way better, but it takes 5x or 6x longer to figure things out and have occasional harmonic epiphanies.

So should I bury all my electrics in the backyard and focus 100% on upright to close the gap? Or is grabbing an electric okay once in a while when I'm mired in the quicksand of a giant untempered instrument?

I feel bad ignoring the improv and harmonic-understanding regions of my brain while I wait for my hands to catch up.

Lee Moses likes this.
  2. madbanjoman

madbanjoman

Feb 23, 2011
    Pittsburgh