1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Electric or Acoustic-electric fretless?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by strost, Oct 2, 2008.

1. strost

strost Supporting Member

Oct 2, 2008
    Blacksburg, VA
    Hi All. I'm a new member and I was hoping to get some advice. I have recently started playing in a duo where we do mostly acoustic stuff and I find myself constantly wishing I had a fretless. The question is whether I want an electric or if I should go acoustic-electric. On the one hand the electric seems more versitile but is might be nice to have something acoustic for those amp-free moments.

Any thoughts on which way to go or advice on specific models would be great. I'm looking to spend under $600.

Thanks!

2. Well,I'm not really a pro on this kind of stuff but perhaps a semi-acoustic fretless electric bass is something you shouldn't overlook,I have heard a few nice reviews on the dean rhapsody fretless,it is supposedly an awesome bass if you put in a new preamp.

3. Oric

Oric

Feb 19, 2008
    Georgetown, Kentucky
    What kind of sound are you looking for?

4. it depends what sound your after...

if you want something like an upright tone, get the acoustic.
    but if you want something like jaco's tone, electric is the way to go.

i have never actually played an acoustic bass, but i heard that they are very quiet, volumewise.
    its not going to be as loud as an acoustic guitar.